Meet Miss Atlanta 2015 Courtney Hinesley

As a reminder, blogs will be posted for pageant goers to get to know your current title holders in the state of Georgia. I am excited that my first feature spotlight is Miss Atlanta, Courtney Hinesley. Enjoy getting to know Courtney.

Courtney_1

Title: Miss Atlanta 2015

Age: 19

Talent: Inspirational ballad like songs

School with major: Kennesaw State University where I am a Communications major.

Platform: Instilling Confidence in our Youth

What made you decide to compete in your first pageant? I competed in my first pageant when I was about 2 years old because I wanted to be just like my older sister.

What was one fear you had that has now vanish for you when you started pageants? I used to be very afraid of public speaking, especially in front of big crowds, but now it’s like a second nature to me. I’ve actually grown to love it, and volunteer to speak first whenever I can!

What’s the best advice you could give a newbie when it comes to interview? The best advice I could give to a newbie when it comes to interview is just truly be yourself, and show your personality and who you are. No judge wants to see a girl that is pretending to be someone she’s not. We were all born with unique talents, strengths, and weaknesses and it’s important that you showcase all parts of you to that panel of judges. Just be real, and relaxed and I promise you will go far.

Out of the pageant world, what is a cool hobby others would find interesting that you do? I enjoy running half marathons.

Favorite food to eat? My favorite food is pizza!

Favorite concert you have attended? My favorite concert that I’ve ever been to was the Reba McEntire concert. I know most people probably wouldn’t expect that, but she is my idol, and practically the coolest red head around!

One thing you wished you would have known before you first trip to Miss GA? When I went to Miss Georgia for the first time I was still a senior in high school, so you could say that I was very nervous and a little intimidated. The one thing that I wish I would have known before I went was to just truly live in the moment, and not just concentrate on the outcome. As I’ve learned now, you perform better when your just truly enjoying the experience because being on the Miss Georgia stage is truly an honor within itself.

Accomplishments in the pageant world: former titles and awards etc? I was In the Top Ten in Miss Georgia’s Outstanding Teen, I won the Preliminary swimsuit award my first year at Miss Georgia, and this past year at Miss Georgia I won the non-finalist interview award. I have held the titles of Miss Conyers Outstanding Teen, Miss North Georgia Mountains Outstanding Teen, Miss Hummingbird, Miss Gwinnett County, and now the current Miss Atlanta! I was also the silver level recipient of the Duke of Edinburgh award.

courtney_2

Any extra you want the world to know? I have just recently partnered with the CMN Hospital here in Atlanta to be able to visit with the kids once a month. I will be throwing them all a themed party on October 7th, and I’m trying to collect stuffed animals for all the children. If you’re interested in donating please contact me! (You can leave a comment below) Help me bring a smile to these beautiful faces.

Leave a comment